Cultural adjustment and culture shock

The four stages recognized in cultural adjustment are called honeymoon, frustration, adjustment, and mastery and are part of this culture shock phenomenon.cultural adjustment and culture shock

While adjustment within a certain country generally takes these 4 stages of adjustment, there might very well in the end be a fifth stage. When returning tot he home country, adjustment might again prove difficult and result in a reverse culture shock.  This leaves a Cross Cultural Adjustment Cycle that summaries as follows:
Stage 1: Excitement and fascination with the new culture.
Stage 2: Crisis period.
Stage 3: Adjustment phase.
Stage 4: Acceptance and Adaptation phase.
Stage 5: Reentry shock.

This might result in different psychiatric conditions, involving depression, anxiety, confusion, etc.

Contact ExpatPsy

fill in this form and we will contact you as soon as possible.

    Your name

    Your e-mail

    Your tel. number

    Your Area code

    Victor Kouratovsky:
    Phone; +31 10 43 617 68


    Full contact information >>